Deferred Disposition / Probation Deferral Eligibility
You are Eligible if you meet all the following requirements:
You have not had a deferral in Liberty Hill;
The request is made before the appearance date on the original citation or notice to appear or before any date to which that initial appearance date has been extended or reset;
You must enter a plea of guilty or no contest and waiver of jury trial; You must hold a valid drivers' license from any state or county
You have to provide proof of minimum liability insurance required by Chapter 601, Texas Transportation Code;
You are at least 25 years of age, or if less than 25 years of age agrees to complete a driving safety course approved under Chapter 1001, Texas Education Code;
No more than 2 convictions of any traffic offense in past 3 years;
A special expense fee shall be an amount equal to the maximum fine for the offense alleged plus court costs will be require paid at the time of your request;
Request for Deferral with plea and an affidavit of eligibility must be signed, if a notary is not available an unsworn declaration may be used
You are ineligible if you have any of the following reasons:
If the defendant has been on deferred disposition in any court within the past 12 months
You have been convicted of more than 2 convictions of any traffic offense in the past 3 years (from the date of offense).
You have failed to appear on the offense or a warrant has been issued for your arrest.
There was a collision arising out of the incident/offense charged in the citation.
You hold a commercial driver's license.
The offense is a serious traffic violation and would not be eligible for a driving safety course as stated below:
Speeding in a school zone
Leaving the scene of an accident
Fail to stop and give information and render aid
Fleeing from police officer
Overtaking or passing a school bus
Excessive speeding 20 miles per hour and over
Any offense in a construction zone when workers were present
Passing an emergency vehicle